Carroll County Map and Logo
Larry L. Leitch, M.A.,M.P.A.
Health Officer
Henry G. Taylor,M.D.,M.P.H
Deputy Health Officer
[end cap]
Carroll County Health Department - Carroll County Maryland
Snapshot of Building
Health Services - Community Health Education - Kids in Safety Seats

K.I.S.S. Program - Kids in Safety Seats
The K.I.S.S. Program provides information, equipment, and resources for parents and families on car seats and child passenger safety.

Maryland's Child Passenger Safety Law:

Maryland's child passenger safety law states that children up to age eight must ride in an appropriate child restraint, according to manufacturer’s instructions, unless the child is over 4’9" or 65 pounds.

Every child from 8 to 16 years old who is not secured in a child restraint must be secured in a vehicle seat belt, in any seating position.


Safety Recommendations:

Infants and young children should ride rear-facing to the maximum weight and height allowed by the child restraint. Current rear-facing age range: 18-24 months, as young children are 76% safer when they ride rear-facing up to the age of two.

Toddlers should ride forward-facing to the maximum weight and height allowed by the child restraint. Longer is better- many child restraints now have 40-80 lb forward-facing harness systems to allow older children to continue riding in a harness system.

All harness straps should be snug and flat. Check the owner’s manual to see which set of shoulder slots should be used. The clip should be level with the underarms.

Many children still need a booster seat, even after reaching eight years old. The best test to see if a child is ready to move out of a booster seat is the following checklist:

Can the child sit all the way back against the vehicle seat?

Do his/her knees bend comfortably over the edge of the seat?

Does the shoulder belt cross the shoulder between the neck and arm?

Is the lap belt low on the hips, touching the thighs?

Can the child stay seated in that position for the entire ride?

If "no" is the answer to any of the questions, the child should remain in the booster seat.

Children under 13 are safest in the back seat.

ALWAYS Buckle Up- Every Person, Every Ride, Every Seating Position.


Back to Top

How can I loan a car seat?
To loan a car seat, simply call 410-876-4448 to make arrangements. No walk-ins.

Back to Top

What are the fees?
Loaner Program:
To be eligible for this a family must provide proof of WIC, Temporary Cash Assitance, or Medical Assitance.  The costs to loan a car seat is $20.  The seat must be returned to the Health Department on the due date or use can be extended upon updating the contract at no additional costs.

Call for additional guidelines and availability of car seats.  No walk-ins.

The Permanent Loaner Program is purchasing a brand new car seat at a discounted rate and not having to return it. Call for current prices.  No walk-ins.

Back to Top

About our seats
All seats are purchased new and used exclusively for the K.I.S.S. Loaner Program.
All seats are cleaned and inspected for wear and damage before re-use.
All seats are federally approved safety seats.
All seats are less than 6 years old.

Back to Top

Car Seat Checks
410-876-4448
Car seat checks are done weekly at the Health Department by appointment only. We cannot take walk-ins. Call for our next community event.

Back to Top

Additional Resources

 

The following Web sites are updated on a regular basis. Please feel free to insert the below links into your agency Web page to ensure the most current information is offered to the public.

National Highway Traffice Safety Adminstration - www.nhtsa.dot.gov

Safety Belt Safe, U.S.A. - www.carseat.org

Safe Ride News - www.saferidenews.com

Maryland Kids in Safety Seats - www.mdkiss.org

Safe Kids Worldwide: www.usa.safekids.org

Look up child passenger safety laws for other states, along with general injury prevention facts.

Back to Top